South Road Trip

I decided to update this “South Road Trip” post since another town and adventure were added to the list.

_____________________________________________________________

My travel blog is like an online scrapbook for me. I posted pictures and travel stories. Lately, I received some questions regarding my hometown as well as the places that I can suggest for them to check out. So, I’m making a compilation of my road trips at the southern part of Cebu.

1. First stop is the municipality of Minglanilla. Tourist attractions are the mountain resorts like Tubod Flowing Water or Villa Ramelyn.

2. If you’re looking for a less expensive white sand beach that would only cost you less than PHP 500, then the town of Barili is the best place to visit.

Tourist attractions include the Mantayupan Falls, the Milk Station which is the favorite stopover for the travelers, and Sayaw Beach.

Trivia: The word “Sayaw” of the famous Sayaw Beach was derived from the waves that look like they’re dancing.

4. On 2009, I was invited to witness the town fiesta of Alegria. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to explore the whole town or even watched the festival dance. However, I wanted to go back this town soon and check out their tourist attractions. I want to visit the Salay Cave, trekking my way to Montpeller Falls, and swim at the Batong Malunhaw Beach Resort. You may visit Alegria’s website for more information about the town.

5. Endless trekking to Inambacan Falls in Ginatilan are one of the things that I miss. Don’t forget to go on a heritage trail by visiting the St. Gregory the Great Parish Church, ancestral houses, watch tower, the old municipal hall, and the Puerto dela Marina that served as the gateway of the fishermen going to the sea.

I’m looking forward to the Hinatdan Festival this coming March 11-12 since its the town fiesta. Other tourist attractions can be viewed HERE.

*If you can remember, part of my March escapade is to revisit the town of Ginatilan. With the generosity of the Ferolin Clan, we all have a great time and celebrated their annual town fiesta. Inambacan Falls is still picturesque and the cold water is inviting. It’s perfect for summer get-away.

Note: I’m making a separate post of my March Escapade which I’ll publish it soon.

6. I would strongly recommend that you include the visit to the Simala Shrine in your itinerary. Say your little prayers and give thanks for the opportunity to travel and visit Cebu.

7. After your quick visit to the Shrine in Simala, you may proceed to the municipality of Argao. Tourist attractions are both public and private beach resorts, Argao Nature Park, St. Michael Archangel Church, Unity Plaza, Justice Hall, and even the Alex Kafe that serves Argao’s famous “bibingka.”

8. Next to Argao is the town of Dalaguete which is also known as the summer capital of Cebu.

Tourist attractions are the oldest church of Dalaguete that was declared as “Pambansang Palatandaang Makasaysayan.” Furthermore, this town is rich with historic attractions including the old seminary, conven, museums, ancestral house, and watch tower. Not to mention that the Obong Spring can be found in Dalaguete so as the vegetable farm in Mantalungon.

9. Before you decide to watch the butanding in Oslob, have a quick visit to the town of Boljoon. Do you know the the oldest church in Cebu is the Patrocinio de Maria in Boljoon. It was declared as the National Landmark which a year after the National Museum declared it as National Cultural Treasure.

Photo L-R: inside the Boljoon Church, vintage Karo, at the Club Fort Med Resort

10. In less than an hour from Boljoon, you’ll reach the town of Oslob. This town is slowly making its name after the whale shark or butanding has been featured in different tabloids. It’s one of the reasons why the tourism of the town has boost.

Since I don’t know how to swim, it’s useless if I’ll try the butanding watching coz I can’t swim with them. Instead, I just visit their historical landmarks like the Immaculate Concepcion Church so as the remains of the Cuartel.

* If you’re traveling with Laagan like me, impromptu trip is not impossible. Despite how scared I was to try the whale shark (butanding) watching, I still gave it a try. I didn’t regret it! (Full story of my butanding watching experienced can be read in my upcoming post.)

11. In reference to my above introduction (a new town was added to the list), I was able to have a quick visit to the town of Santander particularly in Puerto del Sol a.k.a. Lilo-an port. It’s where you will ride a ferry boat going to Dumaguete City.

There you have it!

19 Comments Add yours

  1. laagannacebuana says:

    thanks Intomind, Elena, and Nicholas K ❤

  2. This is just what I was looking for. I did not expect that I’d get so much out of reading your write up! You’ve just earned yourself a returning visitor 🙂

  3. Douglas says:

    It’s awesome to pay a visit this website and reading the views of all friends concerning this piece of writing, while I am also eager of getting familiarity.

Leave a Reply

