Laag 33: Sayaw Beach Revisited

I’ve been to Barili thrice and already visited the not so famous Sayaw Beach way back 2009. I choose to revisit the place as part of my natal day celebration.

Though I can bring one of my closest friends who stood by me all these years, but I choose to travel with someone that I just meet through blogging which we shared the same passion for traveling. Of course, I love my accustomed comfort zones, as there’s safety and relief in the familiar. However, it’s time for me to venture out to new ground, find better friendships, and make a life-shifting difference. That’s the reason why I choose to travel with Ephraim the man behind the Adventist Adventurer travel blog. We have differences especially in religion and beliefs, but they didn’t prevent us not to enjoy the entire trip.

Around 12 noon, we leave Mantayupan Falls for a side trip to Sayaw Beach then proceed to Moalboal. From the Barili public market, you can ride a mini-bus, mutlicab (Php 7 fare), or habal-habal going to Sayaw Beach. Ephraim and I choose to ride the mutlicab going to Dumanjug since it will pass Sayaw Beach.

You will know that you’re almost at the Sayaw Beach when you passed the picturesque view of the beach from the hi-way which is my favorite part when traveling this other side of Cebu.

PHP 10 entrance fee is to be collected when you enter the Sayaw Beach and cottages can be rented for only PHP 150-250 pesos. There’s no room for overnight stay, but there’s a private rest house where you can stay if you want which you’ll be charge PHP 100 per hour. If you want to inquire or make reservations for the cottages as well as the pumpboat, you may call Ate Marliz at +639263790731.

We decided not to rent their cottages since we won’t be staying that long. This time I enjoyed and take my time swimming as the waves are not that rough compared to what I witnessed three years ago.

Then the locals who maintained and manage the beach approached us and suggested that we should visit the other side of the beach which there’s undiscovered cave. Boat rental will only cost PHP 300 and that’s good for 3-4 persons.

Thinking of paddling our way to the other side of the beach thrills me. After taking some pictures of the beach, we then ride the paddled boat. We find rock formations going to the cave then finally arrived at the undiscovered cave of Sayaw Beach.

It’s so perfect for some privacy which you and your group can stay there for the whole day. The current of the waves are kinda strong compare to the other side, but it still manageable. I just suggest that you bring zip lock and secure your cameras, as they might get wet.

We wanted to stay a bit longer, but we still have to travel going to Basdaku in Moalboal. For some reasons, we have to reserved Moalboal for some other time and decided to travel back to the city.

My mission to create better memories was accomplished. Emphraim didn’t have any idea that trip was full of emotional turmoil for me. How thankful I am for his presence and fate’s cooperation.

There is extreme power in purging. Have to let go of the things that aren’t providing results, ending friendships that are extremely hurtful, bidding farewell to a love that didn’t work. These are the things that are necessary for me to free for bigger, better, and brighter things. As they always said, traveling light means traveling with less emotional baggage.

At the end of the day, wanting to move on, let go, work on better things, and cherish worthier people are the best ways to greet another year of my life.

Read my previous post for my Birthday on the road series: Laag 32: Mantayupan Falls 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Ephraim Arriesgado says:

    WOW! What a nice post! I just realized you are feeling that way during our trip, I had no idea, really! 🙂

    Thank you for letting me accompany you, as in!! I hope this will be the start of more travels in the future..

    I will also write about our trip together..

    1. I don’t want to spoil our trip with my selfish reasons.hehehe.. A million thanks you Ephraim..

  2. Niagara Bank says:

    Amazing things here. I’m very glad to see your article. Thank you so much and I am taking a look ahead to contact you. Will you please drop me a e-mail?

  3. kurt says:

    Very nice place

Leave a Reply

