Laag 21: Oslob and The Tourist

The municipality of Oslob located at the southern tip of Cebu is a less traveled municipality. No one knows about the existence of the beautiful creations that God has created not until the “butanding” (whale shark) sightseeing has become popular.

On sunny day of December, I traveled to Oslob with just a piece of paper where I written the places and things that I want to do in one day. I don’t have any idea what Oslob would look like as I haven’t traveled this far yet. I’m only familiar with the bus route “via Bato Oslob.”

How to get there?

From Cebu South Bus Terminal, you can ride any bus with a route “Bato Oslob.” If its your first time to travel in Cebu, you better instruct the driver to drop off you off at the town proper. From there, everything is accessible for you and besides there are trikes that you can hire and ride wherever you want to go in Oslob.

Immaculate ConceptionChurch

The Immaculate Conception Church is located few meters away from the town proper. It’s a walking distance though, and easy to locate which you can just ask the locals for directions like I did.

The moment that I saw the old church, it makes me feel that I’m not in my country. It’s historic, old, vintage, and so Spanish era.

Old Spanish Cuartel

The Cuartel is located right across the old church of Oslob. It’s actually a ruin Cuartel which I enjoyed taking a picture of myself. If I’m a pro photographer, I could go crazy and take a “lot” of pictures of it.

I even asked myself that why this was not featured nor promoted? We go crazy with the historic era in other countries, but we didn’t know that we also have one waiting for our appreciation. I’m glad that I drop by first at this historic scene before going to the whale shark watching coz this one deserves more promotion that chasing after the butandings.

Oh, didn’t I tell you that picture above was featured in TV Patrol Weekend? You can watch it here.  🙂

Whale shark (butanding) sightseeing

The butanding watching took place in March of this year as I went back together with my colleagues. At that time, rates are only P300/head from P100 the last I inquired way back in December. I believe that they already increase the rates to more or less P500 which already includes the outrigger boat rental that will take you at the middle of sea where you’ll be chasing the butandings. However, this does not include the life jacket rentals, food, accommodations, and snorkeling gears. Make sure that you listen carefully to the instructions during the orientation otherwise; you’ll be popular in social media for abusing the butandings.

The Experience

My first ever solo trip down the south ignited my desire to explore my hometown. I felt like I’m totally a tourist of my hometown.

This solo trip is memorable for me as this has been the start of my passion to promote my hometown which I have created the “46 of 46 project.” It’s my own advocacy to travel the 46 municipalities that compose Cebu province. So far, I’ve traveled less than 20 municipalities which I hope that I could at least complete half of it before this year ends. With that, I would need your support. Let me know if you have know some landmarks or places most especially at the northern part in Cebu that need some promotion.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. jhong mabini says:

    i am also an adventurous person! love visiting places to places. . i am glad to meet ur blog since this wud help me alot. .by d way, in this picture what aplication dd u use to make ur photos more beautiful? thanks. and godbles

    1. hi Jhong! than’s for dropping by your compliments..

      photo app? I believe I’m using picnik and be funky photo effects for those pictures.

  2. trix says:

    Hi! I’m excited that I’l get to visit your hometown once more. But we will be coming from Eden resort in Santander to Oslob. Is it far? I’m currently doing our itinerary. Your help will be much appreciated. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    1. Hi Trix! Drive/travel is less than an hour only. 🙂

  3. skulgirltrx says:

    Hi! I’m excited that I’l get to visit your hometown once more. But we will be coming from Eden resort in Santander to Oslob. Is it far? I’m currently doing our itinerary. Your help will be much appreciated. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

