Tips for Sinulog 2013!

sinulog 2013

Cebu has the longest holiday season – from Christmas and New Year’s break then to the Sinulog celebration. Every year thousands of people from different part of the globe will visit this city and witness the celebration. I’ll be happy to share my personal tips to those who are going to witness this year’s celebration.

Day and Night Activities

Part of the celebration are the day and night activities in the metro. Different museums like Cebu City Museum, BPI Museum, as well as the Sto. Niňo Museum is open to the public. With that, I encourage you to refrain from visiting the museum during weekends and late afternoon. Most of the time people will visit the museum starting 3 in the afternoon onwards during weekdays and mid morning on weekends until it closes. Usually, museums would open at 9:00 AM, you can go there around this time before lunch time.

If you plan to watch the live band in Fuente Osmeňa Circle, please be vigilant with your personal belongings especially if it’s your first time in Cebu. Refrain from bringing expensive gadgets.

Sto. Niňo Novena Mass

The novena mass will start on January 10, 2013. The first mass is on 5:30 AM and last mass is on 7:00 PM. Please not that there is 30 minutes interval before the next mass. I highly recommend that you go to the church 30 minutes at least before the next mass so that you can get the best spot for shooting pictures.

What to bring during the mass?

  • Umbrella in case you’ll sit outside at the pilgrim which you are expose under the heat of the sun
  • Fan
  • Foldable chairs (you may also rent from the vendors outside the church)
  • 9-day Novena guide in case you’ll be sitting outside the projector and won’t be able to see the novena prayer flashes on the screen.

You may visit the official website of Basilica del Sto. Nino for more information.

Fluvial Parade

sinulog fluvial

You can’t join the fluvial parade not unless you have the ticket. As far as I could remember, fluvial ticket would cost you P150. You can purchase it or ask the Sto.Niňo on where to purchase the ticket. Beware of “FAKE” tickets.

Solemn Procession

Procession would start from 1 PM. There’s no need for you to go to the Sto. Niňo which is the starting point of the procession. For us, we would usually wait in LandBank where the procession would pass then will use our charm and beg the student cordon to let us in. 🙂

Don’t forget to bring the following during the procession:

  • Umbrella
  • Extra shirt
  • An image of the Sto. Niňo
  • Rosary
  • Wear COMFORTABLE cloths. Shirt, jeans and shoes will do.

Grand Parade

If you plan to watch the mardigra, as early as 6AM you should be at the vicinity not unless your house or hotel is just walking distant from the location. Though you can get a better view if you watch the street dancing in Mango Square, but I won’t recommend this place for first timer. People would usually stay in this area and chances are you won’t be able to see the sinulog dancers up close and personal. Usually, I would stay in Rivergate or along San Carlos Boys High (north) campus. Only few people would watch the street dancing in that area which means that I could take a better picture of the Sinulog dancers at the same time I can get the chance to have a picture taken with them.

I hope that these have helped you guys especially those first time to visit my hometown. Enjoy and see you around!

10 Comments Add yours

  1. hana banana says:

    thank u for these tips 🙂

    1. you’re welcome Hana! 🙂

  2. Leia says:

    Your tips really help me a lot during Sinulog.
    Than you so much!

    1. that’s good to know, Leia. 🙂

      1. Leia says:

        I am looking forward for new interesting posts…
        You can create also something about jobsites in cebu , a lot of people needed some help about this.

      2. thank you for this suggestion, Leia. Before I made this travel blog, I planned to make a blog that talks about call center jobs and every thing that job seekers that need to know based on my personal experience. I realized that I’m passionate on travel which I am afraid that I cannot keep up a blog that talks about jobs. However, I would post tips on my facebook account, but it’s not always though.

        How I wish I have lots of time to run another blog.

Leave a Reply

