5 Things I learned About Sagada

Sagada, Mt. Province

Before the movie “That Thing Called Tadhana” became a hit, Sagada is already part of my bucket list. I am even more curious when I went to Banaue and met local travelers which all of them recommend Sagada.

If you follow me on Instagram, you’ll know that the first half of the year was spent from the summit to the sea. Hence, my feed is flooded with blues and greens. To say goodbye to summer and welcome the rainy season, I choose Sagada as the destination to welcome the 2nd half of the year.

In 3 days, here are the top three things that I’ve learned that famous travel blogs and guidebooks didn’t tell me about Sagada.

Sagada, Mt. Province

  1. No Tricycle

Yes, I’ve read that this town is made for walking. But, what they didn’t tell you is that tricycles are not allowed. In 3 days, I didn’t see a single tricycle roaming around the town. Only PUJs bound for Bontoc, buses, and some motorcycles (habal2x). I asked our tour guide and he said that tricycles are not allowed in this town. If you want to go to a particular place, you have to walk or hire a PUJ. No wonder the transportation are expensive.

  1. They love their own products

They love and use locally produced products, especially the handwoven bags. From children to adults, most of them carry handwoven bags made in Sagada. Whether its an every day bag or travelling bag.

Another thing that I’ve observed when they dress up for a wedding or party, they wear handwoven tapis with matching top for ladies while men wear Barong with a hand woven cloth use to accentuate. They look like a magazine editorial. Looking gorgeous and elegant in their own distinct fashion which I love by the way.

Sagada, Mt. Province

  1. Souvenirs are fixed price

Our haggling skills didn’t work in Sagada. We may able to haggle and purchase some bargain souvenirs, but most of the of the time locals would tell us that the prices are fixed. And my “Suki” souvenir shop owner in Banaue also testifies that in Sagada you can’t haggle the prices. So, good luck to  your haggling skills. 🙂

  1. Late sunset

In the city, we are used by having the sun to set at around 5:30pm. But in Sagada, 6:40 pm still looks like 4pm in the city. It only started to get dark around 7pm.

Sagada, Mt. Province

  1. Most of them are catholic

In my own estimate based on the story of our tour guide, more or less 80% of the natives are Catholic. Unlike in Banaue, most of the locals are Pagans.

Hope this post would give you an idea about Sagada. Curious how much it would cost to have a “hugot” in Sagada? Don’t fret ‘coz I’ll blog about it soon. 🙂

*Disclaimer:  These are only my views. Tips and suggestions mentioned in this post are proven by me. What worked for me, may not work for you.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. amazing. Hope to be there soon. 😀 😀 😀

    1. Kareen says:

      Thanks for dropping by, fellow laagan. 🙂

Leave a Reply

