Don’t Tell my Mom that I Almost Died while Hiking in Batad

Hiking Batad Rice Terraces is one of the reasons why I went back to Ifugao early this year with Kate.  We were trying to decide if we should go for an overnight stay or just a day tour. Yes, a day tour is possible.  We choose the later. 

Batad Rice Terraces

I’m not so keen on staying overnight in the middle of rice terraces since I’ve already done it before in Hungduan. So, I told Kate that we’ll just do the day tour — enough to satisfy our curiosity.

We met a tricycle driver at the Banaue public market a day before the hike which he agreed to the P800/person fee inclusive of the transportation and tour guide service.

Batad Rice Terraces

An hour including stops in some of the viewing decks we have passed, we arrived at the saddle point of Batad Rice Terraces. In the vicinity, you’ll find souvenir shops and small sari-sari stores. Locals will suggest that you rent a walking stick (P10 only) which for me it was very helpful during the hike.

The hike was manageable at first since we’re hiking downwards going to the viewing deck. A P20 entrance fee to be collected when you arrived at the Batad Tourism Office.

Most of the guesthouse are located at the viewing deck area. If you change your mind and decide to stay overnight, just ask the locals for recommendations.

What did we do in our half-day tour in Batad?

Batad Rice Terraces

Nothing much to do but one thing is for sure it involves a lot of hiking. We ditched the trek going to waterfalls. Instead, we visited two (2) viewing decks in Batad Rice Terraces. I feel like that trek wasn’t challenging enough for me, I suggested that we should walk a “bit further” which lasted around 30-45 minutes.

My knees were wobbly as I walked around the rice paddies at the same time I feel contented that I can finally cross it off from my bucket list.

Batad Rice Terraces

The challenging part was on our way back to the main viewing deck. The trail was steep and incline that it test my cardio and endurance. In the middle of the hike, I feel like something is going to explode inside me while I’m catching my breath. I wanted to throw up but nothing comes out. So, they advise me to drink lots of water and rest until my breathing is back to regular rhythm.

Batad Rice Terraces

When I reached the jumping-off point, I collapse on one of the benches outside the sari-sari store. They let me stay there for a few minutes until I feel better and ready to walk another steep and narrow road to where our transportation was parked.

Tip: Prepare for the hike. Do some cardio exercise. Don’t be stubborn like me. After all, responsible tourism is not just about being conscious about the social impact but it’s also about being a responsible for your own safety.  🙂

One Comment Add yours

  1. Katherine says:

    I went here about 2 years ago I think, and I remember my legs got stiff the morning after our trek to Tappiyah falls. Trekking through the rice terraces is more difficult compared to trekking mountains because the stairs demand more muscle effort. 🙂 Nice photos, btw.

Leave a Reply

